The XX Triumph In Xfm New Music Award

February 2, 2010 by  

The XX were last night (Feb 1st) named winners of the Xfm New Music Award 2010 with their album ‘xx’ being named the Best British Debut Album of the last year.

During the debate at a private bunker in North London, the panel of judges argued about who should take home the trophy, but ultimately it was decided that the South London trio had beaten the likes of Florence And The Machine, La Roux, Mumford And Sons and White Lies to the honour of the third Xfm New Music Award.

The Judges were Carl Barat of Dirty Pretty Things, Xfm’s John Kennedy, Dave Berry and Clint Boon, Tom Smith of Editors, Tim Burgess of The Charlatans, Peter Hook of Joy Division/New Order, Stone Roses and Radiohead producer John Leckie, Gordon Smart of The Sun, David Morgendorff of MTV, Ben Cardew of Music Week, plus Tom Clarke of 2008 winners The Enemy.

Speaking of the winning album, Tom Smith of Editors said, “It’s true originality, something you’ve not really heard before, it’s not linked to sales, it’s not linked to critical acclaim, it’s something you’ll come back to again and again and again. For whatever reason, they’re resonating with critics and fans, which is good.”

Meanwhile, former winner Tom Clarke of The Enemy claimed: “I came down here to go all out for Florence, because she owned 2009. But I think the right decision was probably reached. It’s not the obvious one.
That was the bit that swung it for me, the moment that John Leckie mentioned the record had soul. Because most people in the room and most people that buy music would want their record to be real. Florence is amazing and has had so many big tunes this year, but she’ll probably win absolutely everything else anyway.”