PJ Harvey Announces DVD Short Film Release

December 1, 2011 by  

Short films to accompany each track from PJ Harvey’s Barclaycard Mercury Prize Album of the Year, ‘Let England Shake’, are to be released via Island Records on December 12th, 2011. The twelve films were shot by famed war photographer Seamus Murphy and tackle the issues of heritage, identity and turmoil that encapsulate Harvey’s critical account of modern English society on the record.

Never-before-seen video footage to the song ‘England’ features along with exclusive commentary from Murphy on the making of each film. He travelled the country, and compiled footage from Iraq, Afghanistan and other states in the Middle East (alluded to by Harvey) to use as a backdrop to her accomplished and haunting record.

Here’s the tracklisting for the disc as it stands:

  1. Let England Shake
  2. The Last Living Rose
  3. The Glorious Land
  4. The Words That Maketh Murder
  5. All And Everyone
  6. On Battleship Hill
  7. England
  8. In The Dark Places
  9. Bitter Branches
  10. Hanging In The Wire
  11. Written On The Forehead
  12. The Colour Of The Earth
  13. England (Solo Version)