Mumford & Sons Announce Details of Second Album, ‘Babel’

July 16, 2012 by  

After almost three years of heavy touring and basking in the glory of debut effort Sigh No More, Mumford & Sons are due to return with Babel, their second full-length offering, on September 24th 2012 (via Gentlemen of the Road/Island Records). Fans will be able to pre-order the album on the band’s site from July 23rd 2012, and can also peep the album’s trailer video here (originally and mysteriously released on the site).

From the band’s official statement:

“We are more than excited to release ‘Babel’ into the world. We had started writing new songs well before we got into the studio to record. At first, we peeled ourselves off the road quite reluctantly. We love playing live, obviously, but it had also become an important part of our creative process, we had been writing and rehearsing in soundchecks, and sort of ?road-testing? new songs on our very gracious audiences. But then we fell in love with recording again. The album started to come together, and with the help of Markus Dravs once more (and engineer Robin Baynton), we started to relish the challenge of making this album”.

Full tracklisting:

1. ? ? Babel
2. ? ? Whispers In The Dark
3. ? ? I Will Wait
4. ? ? Holland Road
5. ? ? Ghosts That We Knew
6. ? ? Lover Of The Light
7. ? ? Lovers? Eyes
8. ? ? Reminder
9. ? ? Hopeless Wanderer
10. ? Broken Crown
11. ? Below My Feet
12. ? Not With Haste