Listen: Cloud Nothings Release ‘Attack on Memory’ Mixtape

November 21, 2011 by  

Cloud Nothings? Dylan Baldi has compiled a mixtape of the influences behind the band?s forthcoming Steve Albini-produced album ?Attack on Memory?.

The mixtape, which you can listen to below, contains some choice cuts from the likes of Black Sabbath and Thin Lizzy and Baldi has this to say of his selection:

?While I was writing the songs that would become ‘Attack On Memory’, I listened almost exclusively to music that was made before I was born. This is a pretty common practice for me, actually, but I took it to a new level while making the record. I more or less memorized every guitar solo on the best Thin Lizzy albums, listened to only The Wipers for about 3 weeks, and fell asleep to Black Sabbath every night.

This mix condenses my listening habits into an easily digestible ?best of,? songs that strongly affected what I was thinking while writing my own music. Not to say that every song on ‘Attack On Memory’ sounds like Killdozer, but I do think that the influence of these particular tracks is often obvious, and hopefully sheds some light on why the new Cloud Nothings album sounds so different from any of the past recordings.?

‘Attack on Memory’ is released on February 6th 2012 through Wichita Recordings and you can stream Baldi’s selection below:

The Mixtape tracklist is:

01. Black Sabbath “Supernaut”
02. Nina Hagen “Born In Xixax”
03. Killdozer The Pig Was Cool
04. Zounds “This Land”
05. Thin Lizzy “For Those Who Love To Live”
06. The Wipers “No One Wants An Alien”
07. Bitch Magnet “Navajo Ace”
08. Swell Maps “The Helicopter Spies”