Lightspeed Champion Covers the Beach Boys On New EP

October 19, 2010 by  

Lightspeed Champion is to release a new four track EP called Bye Bye through Domino records on 13th December 2010. The four track EP will be available on 10? vinyl and via digital download.

Bye Bye includes a cover of the Beach Boys? Til I Die, taken from their 1971 Surf?s Up album, and the rest of the tracks were arranged by composer and producer, Van Dyke Parks, who has worked with the Beach Boys, the Byrds and Joanna Newsom.

Dev Hynes said the following of working with Van Dyke Parks:

?It was pretty surreal… he’s someone I’ve listened to for what seems like forever. I found myself listening to the stems and works in progress as a fan of him, then I’d remember that it’s something we’re working on together… then I’d freak out… Then I’d have a drink and I’d feel fine.?

Full tracklisting for Bye Bye is as follows:

?Til I Die
Underwater There Is Nothing
Bye Bye Icarus
The Mess You’re In