Art Brut Announce New Album ‘Brilliant Tragic!’

March 3, 2011 by  

Art Brut have announced they are to return with their new studio album ‘Brilliant Tragic!’ on May 23rd through Cooking Vinyl.

The album was again produced by Black Francis and will be preceded by lead single ‘Lost Weekend’ the week before on May 16th.

The band’s singer, Eddie Argos, had this to say of recording the album, “with the last album we met up every couple of months and wrote three or four songs. This time we got together in the second half of the year and wrote whenever we could 2 or 3 times a week. We had more time in the studio this time too (about a week more) so Black Francis had time to teach me how to sing.” and “I’m very proud that I sing on it. Only took four albums to start singing, not bad.”

The track-list to ‘Brilliant Tragic’ is below:

01 Clever Clever Jazz
02 Lost Weekend.
03 Bad Comedian.
04 Sexy Sometimes.
05 Is Dog Eared.
06 Martin Kemp Welch Five A-Side Football Rules !
07 Axel Rose.
08 I Am The Psychic.
09 Ice Hockey.
10 Sealand.

For the record Art Brut have also teamed up with PledgeMusic to offer fans an exclusive download and extras and a new track ‘Unprofessional Wrestling’ is available now as a free download from here.

To promote the album Art Brut will be taking up residency at Lexington in London starting on Monday May 30th and finishing 5 nights later on Friday June 3rd.