Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe and Dinosaur Jr Appear on Tribute Album

July 10, 2009 by  


September 14th sees the release of Ciao My Shining Star by Various Artists.

The album is a tribute to former Miracle Legion frontman Mark Mulcahy?s wife Melissa, who died suddenly last September, and features a collection of some of today?s greatest recording artists performing versions of Mulcahy?s songs.

All proceeds from the sale of the album will go to Mark to help him continue his career while also raising his 3-year-old twin daughters.

The album features 21 exclusive tracks from, among others, Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr, Mercury Rev, The National, Frank Black, Frank Turner, Vic Chesnutt and Josh Rouse. In addition, a further 20 tracks will be made available digitally to promote the album from artists including AC Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs.

Available on CD and as a digital download, the full track listing is as follows :

01 Thom Yorke “All for the Best”
02 The National “Ashamed of the Story I Told”
03 Michael Stipe “Everything?s Coming Undone”
04 David Berkeley “Love’s the Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”
05 Dinosaur Jr. “The Backyard”
06 Chris Harford and The Band Of Changes “Micon the Icon”
07 Frank Black “Bill Jocko”
08 Vic Chesnutt “Little Man”
09 Unbelievable Truth “Ciao My Shining Star”
10 Butterflies of Love “I Have Patience”
11 Chris Collingwood of Fountains of Wayne “Cookie Jar”
12 Frank Turner “The Quiet One”
13 Rocket From the Tombs “In Pursuit of Your Happiness”
14 Ben Kweller “Wake Up Whispering”
15 Josh Rouse “I Woke Up in the Mayflower”
16 Autumn Defense “Paradise”
17 Hayden “Happy Birthday Yesterday”
18 Juliana Hatfield “We’re Not in Charleston Anymore”
19 Mercury Rev “Sailors and Animals”
20 Elvis Perkins “She Watches Over Me”
21 Sean Watkins “A World Away From This One”