The National Reveal ‘High Violet’ Album Details

March 15, 2010 by  

Following the announcement that the new studio album by The National is entitled High Violet and will be released on May 10th (11th worldwide) via 4AD, the band have released further details.

High Violet is the Brooklyn quintet’s first full-length release since 2007’s long-player Boxer and all eleven tracks were recorded in the band’s own studio in Brooklyn with further recording and mixing at Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport, Connecticut with Peter Katis.

And now we can tell you the High Violet track listing will be:

1. Terrible Love
2. Sorrow
3. Anyone’s Ghost
4. Little Faith
5. Afraid Of Everyone
6. Bloodbuzz Ohio
7. Lemonworld
8. Runaway
9. Conversation 16
10. England
11. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks.

To coincide with the release of High Violet The National will play two sold-out London shows at The Electric Ballroom and Royal Albert Hall on May 5th and 6th respectively. The band have also been confirmed to headline The Word Arena at this year’s Latitude Festival.

Tour dates:
5th May – Electric Ballroom, London *SOLD OUT*
6th May – Royal Albert Hall, London *SOLD OUT*
7th May – Zenith, Paris (with Pavement)
8th May – Huxley’s Neue Welt
9th May – Astra, Berlin
15-18 July – Latitude Festival (The Word Arena)

And finally, the sculpture in the cover art above was created by Mark Fox and is named ‘The Binding Force’.