R?yksopp Releasing New Instrumental Album ‘Senior’

June 29, 2010 by  

R?yksopp are set to release the counterpart to last year’s album ‘Junior’ on the 13th September 2010.

The Nordic electronic pioneers Svein Berge and Torbjorn Brundtland recorded ‘Senior’ at the same time as ‘Junior’ and was written as a complete set of tracks, each designated to take a specific part in the bigger piece. All individual tracks have been made with the intent of coexisting with the other tracks on the album.

Royksopp explain: “The two albums (‘Junior’ and ‘Senior’) have a kinship, in that they represent R?yksopp’s two very different artistic expressions. ‘Junior’ – with emphasis on vocals, accessible melodies and harmonies, has the energy, the inquisitive temper and confident “hey-ho, let’s go!”-attitude of youth, whereas ‘Senior’ is the introverted, dwelling and sometimes graceful counterpart – brimfull with dark secrets and distorted memories, insisting “I’m old, I’ve got experince…?. Senior’ is furthermore an album about age, horses and being subdued – with devils breathing down your neck.”

The album tracklisting is as follows:

1 …And The Forest Began To Sing
2 Tricky Two
3 The Alcoholic
4 Senior Living
5 The Drug
6 Forsaken Cowboy
7 The Fear
8 Coming Home
9 A Long, Long Way